What is Your Love Language? These Are the 5 Love Languages

If you've ever heard of the 5 Love Languages, you may believe that they're solely applicable for romantic relationships. But this isn't true at all. Singles, couples, and more can enjoy the benefits of using the 5 Love Languages.

In fact, learning about the 5 Love Languages; knowing your own and the one(s) that those who are closest to you identify with, can create stronger connections be it in friendships, work relationships, partnerships, and romance. For that reason, the concept can be useful for any and everyone.

The 5 Love Languages

The 5 Love Languages

If you're unfamiliar with the 5 Love Languages, go on a journey with us as we uncover these beautiful ideas with examples!

And if you are familiar with them, perhaps you'll find new ways that you can use them to strengthen your connections.

What Are the Five Languages?

The 5 Love Languages are:

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Quality Time

3. Acts of Service

4. Gifts

5. Touch

What Are the Five Languages

Who Created the Five Love Languages?

The 5 Love Languages was created by Gary Chapman, a marriage counsellor, author, and pastor, and was first published in 1992. And while he's written several successful books, over 20 million copies (and counting) of The 5 Love Languages have been purchased worldwide. 

The Five Love Languages has also been on the New York Time's bestseller list since 2007, making it a true success. Ready to find out what your love language is?

Who Created the Five Love Languages

What is Your Love Language?

Now that you're familiar with the 5 Love Languages, namely; words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, gifts, and touch, let's indulge in each to find out which of them you relate to most. 

Note: these have been written in no particular order and one is no more important than the other. Also, it's very possible that one may identify with more than one of the 5 Love Languages, so this is normal.

1. Words of Affirmation

This love language involves using verbal or written acknowledgments of affection. It's when someone appreciates being complimented, praised, given encouragement, and these days, communicating via texting and social media. If you feel that this is your love language, you feel appreciated and understood when someone shows you affection via verbal or written expression.

Examples of words of affirmation:

  • "I love you"
  • "You are special to me"
  • "You really inspire me"
  • "I am so grateful to have you in my life"

2. Quality Time

Quality time is when someone gives another their undivided attention. If you believe that quality time is your love language, time dedicated to you is what makes you feel appreciated. This could take various different forms, but the main thing is to put away all distractions such as phones and laptops, and making time for the person in your life who really likes to be seen.

Examples of quality time:

  • Trying out a new restaurant together
  • Buying tickets to see a performance
  • Going to the cinema
  • Scheduling time for deep and meaningful conversations
  • Having a weekly or monthly date nights

3. Acts of Service

For those who identify with "acts of service"... actions speak louder than words. This love language is when one person does things for another in such a way that it makes their lives easier or better. And when this takes place, the receiver feels cherished, appreciated, and not taken for granted.

Examples of acts of service:

  • Bringing a partner breakfast in bed
  • Doing the laundry, cooking, cleaning
  • Making their favourite meal for them
  • Doing some paperwork for a work colleague to help them lessen their load 
  • Help a friend with their studies

4. Gifts

The term "gifts" may lead you to believe that those who identify with this love language revel in expensive and lavish items, but this isn't (always) the case. With this love language, the identifier views visual symbols of love as a way of feeling special. It's not about how much the gift costs, but more so about the thought that was behind the gift giving

Examples of gifts:

  • Giving someone a bunch of their favourite flowers
  • Sending one a surprise gift
  • Signing someone up for a class they've always wanted to try
  • Buying them a piece of jewellery you know they'll love
  • Getting them a book on a topic they're passionate about 

5. Touch

This love language doesn't merely mean sexual touch. It can, but it doesn't have to. Physical touch can be platonic acts of endearment that make someone feel loved and appreciated. It's about physical expression that's meaningful and shows adoration, love, or care. For that reason, it can be sexual or non-sexual.

Examples of touch:

  • Giving someone a hug when they're upset, happy, sad, excited, or merely to say hello
  • Holding hands with someone you care about 
  • Deep kissing in a romantic setting
  • Cuddling

Five Love Languages Explained

So, have you figured out which one of these 5 Love Languages is yours? And what about your partner, friend, co-worker, or lover? Once you're able to know which love language you, and someone special in your life, identify with, you can really deepen your connection, making it even stronger and more meaningful for both.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published